Moved in!

(This post got lost in draft-land for a few weeks…sorry!!!)  Yep, I’ve been “living” here for a while, but it’s been somewhat of a sad existence.  Confined to one drafty room shared with a dog that was impossible to keep clean, cooking with nothing but a microwave and single burner camp stove, eating lots and LOTS of prepackaged food – hey, I even discovered how to make hamburger helper in the microwave – and the dreadful walk upstairs through filth to shower.  Come to think of it, it wasn’t that different from college.  But forget all that, because I made it!  As promised, Thanksgiving weekend was move-in weekend for me!  The storage unit is totally cleaned out and closed, most of my stuff is in the house, and the rest of my stuff is in the addition – where I used to reside. 

I actually started sleeping in my bedroom just after I finished painting the floors up there, about a week before the actual move-in.  The weather said the low for that night was 8, and the drafty room heated with a couple of electric space heaters had been hovering around 46 at night, so I hulked out and moved my queen mattress upstairs by myself.  It probably weighs around 100 lbs or so, plus or minus some dead skin cells.  It’s only 4 years old, don’t worry, it’s not that gross yet.  So I slept like this for about a week while I contemplated how I was going to get my box spring up there.  Well, except with sheets and stuff.

image

Yes, I tried the boxspring, it wouldn’t clear the step/door frame by about 2″.  Fuck.  I have access to Google, so I can find a solution to anything, right?  Well, I found this video.  And after laughing hysterically, I seriously contemplated doing it, until I realized my boxspring isn’t fancy.  It’s just a wooden frame covered with cardboard and fabric.  Scrap that idea.  Luckily, I grew up in an old farm house, and my parents had split foundation for their queen bed.  It was decided that we’d just swap, since my non-bendable boxspring would make its way into their bedroom no problem.  Well, come to find out, their bed was 16, yes 16!!! years old.  Clearly they have been ignoring Mattress Firm’s “replace every 8” ad campaign.  They decided to get a new bed, I got the split foundation, and everything else went to the burn pile.

There’s also the issue of living in a house built before closets were in vogue.  The solution to this for my room was the inheritance of my parents’ wardrobe.  This thing is crazy big, but it comes apart and practically folds flat.  Here’s the assembly process.

image

image

image

image

Of course everything in my house has settled except the chimney and the exterior walls, so every floor slopes down toward the middle of the room and back up at the sides.  Hence, this was necessary.

image

Finally fixed the bed situation, too.  And I even got new bedding!

image

Moving everything else in was relatively uneventuful, just time consuming.  Here’s pictures of the result!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

There are plenty of little things left to do, baseboards, crown moulding, thresholds, etc, but where it’s at now is a FAR cry from where it began, and taking a little break has been wonderful.  Hope you enjoyed the pictures and the journey, I’ll continue to update as things progress!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bathroom, Finished Room Feature, Finishes, Kitchen, Photos

Leave a Reply

