The (downstairs) floors are DONE!

Whoa, two posts in one day?  You better be feeling awfully special.  ‘Tis the month for giving thanks, so, you’re welcome.  As the title suggests, this is another “floors” post!  I’m going to keep this one to mostly pictures.            

The initial sanding weekend seems like ages ago, at this point, and it sort of was.  I was lucky enough to score a 4-day weekend over Veteran’s day, and you know what holiday weekends mean in this family: floors!  Thankfully, there was no tile involved this time.  I guess we’re expanding our tradition.  This time, the downstairs wood floors got their final sand before being stained and poly-ed.  The upstairs floors got some love, too, and were sanded to be paint-ready for when THAT time comes.

After the sanding, it was time for stain.  I decided on Minwax Weathered Oak, which imparted nice grey tones while keeping the floor looking warm and time-worn.  Okay, photo time.

The during:

image

image

image

image

And the result:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

And I didn’t forget, I owe you a picture of the fridge.

image

When I was looking at pictures of floors to decide on a finish, I had a terrible time finding Minwax Weathered Oak on yellow pine – maybe because it’s because it’s a relatively new color.  I hope these pictures help someone else making the same decision!  I realize that the pictures are all over the place on what the floors look like, from dark to light to grey to brown.  The true finish is a warm, rich, worn brown with a substantial amount of darks and greys that make the floor look like it has been here for 100 years.  Oh wait, it has.  It’s complete with face nails, the mark from the old front door, and a random spiral caused by who-knows-what.  I absolutely love it!

So, no, ultimately I didn’t vinegar the floor, but I did get to use the technique (a technique? of course!).  Remember how we had to patch some spots in the floor, especially in the kitchen?  To make sure they didn’t stand out as “new” boards in the finished floor, they got the vinegar treatment before we stained.  I think they blend in pretty well.  The rope, while hairy, also worked well to fill the gaps.  It accepted the stain, as advertised, and looks pretty cool.  Putting it in was a pain, though, and if you know you’re going to have gaps in your floor, I’d suggest putting the rope in as you lay the floor.  That would probably beat jabbing it in with a hammer and screwdriver like I ended up doing.

I don’t want to go into detail of the process, but if you’re doing your own floors and finishing them with poly, light coats are key.  Three coats total, lots of dry time in between coats, but not too much (read the can, duh).  And if your floors are old and uneven (like mine are), be careful of pooling in low spots. Did I mention light coats?  Light coats.

1 Comment

Filed under Finishes, Floors, Photos

One response to “The (downstairs) floors are DONE!

Leave a Reply

